科文斯现更名为Labcorp Drug Development

作为一家全球性公司,我们致力于为千百万人的福祉共同创新,持续为您带来更先进的医学突破。

了解详情

ID8:用于测试卵巢癌免疫疗法的同系小鼠模型

Author: Dylan Daniel, PhD, Director, Scientific Development
Date: November 2017


ID8-Luc是一种开发用于治疗原位卵巢癌的新型同系小鼠模型。在高度晚期的IV期卵巢癌患者中,卵巢癌仍然是一个未攻克的重大医学难题,5年相对生存率为17%。

卵巢癌是一种亟待治疗的疾病,尤其具有致死性,因为它通常仅在相当晚期时才被发现。2017年,美国将有约22,440名女性被确诊患有卵巢癌,约有14,080名将会死亡。铂类联合抗有丝分裂紫杉类化疗是美国的标准治疗方法,但是尽管这些治疗方法最初通常是有效的,但往往会复发和进展。需要新型治疗方法来治疗卵巢癌。

基于最近在利用免疫系统治疗其他癌症方面取得的成功,药物筛选科学家探索了卵巢癌的免疫疗法。目前,有50项以上的临床试验正在测试卵巢癌的免疫疗法和联合疗法;但是,可进行临床前药理学研究的同种小鼠卵巢癌模型数量有限。 Labcorp has developed the ID8 syngeneic mouse cell line model for testing standard therapeutics as well as for immuno-oncology applications.ID8源自通过体外传代转化的C57BL/6小鼠卵巢表面上皮细胞。1荧光素酶可在ID8细胞(ID8-Luc-mCherry-Puro)中表达,以通过生物发光成像(BLI)监测原位(腹膜内)肿瘤的生长。

图示为由BLI监测的ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro的平均肿瘤生长动力学(图1A)和个体生长动力学(图1B)。植入1.0×107细胞的小鼠比植入5.0×106细胞的C57BL/6白化病小鼠产生的肿瘤生长更为一致。一如预期,C57BL/6白化病小鼠中的信号(光子/秒)高于(绿线,图1B,2组)野生型C57BL/6小鼠(红线,图1B),这是由于其皮肤中缺乏黑色素,黑色素可吸收来自肿瘤细胞的光输出。图1C为ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro原位疾病进展的代表性BLI图像。

图1A:通过全身BLI监测ID8-luc-mCh-puro卵巢癌的腹膜内生长。
图1A:通过全身BLI监测ID8-luc-mCh-puro卵巢癌的腹膜内生长。
图1B - Tumor-ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro生长动力学

Fig. 1B – Growth Kinetics of Tumor-ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro

图1C:ID8-luc-mCh-Puro卵巢癌在C57BL/6白化小鼠(1.0×107细胞/小鼠)中的代表性BLI图像。

图1C:ID8-luc-mCh-Puro卵巢癌在C57BL/6白化小鼠(1.0×107细胞/小鼠)中的代表性BLI图像。

植入ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro细胞的小鼠在研究期间体重增加(图2)),有些小鼠仅在研究结束时才出现体重减轻。表现为由于腹水形成而导致腹胀(图3)的疾病进展与植入1.0×107细胞的C57BL/6白化病小鼠35-40天的生存期呈线性关系。

图2:ID8-Luc-MCh-Puro模型中的体重变化:按组划分的平均体重变化(含标准误差)。
图2:ID8-Luc-MCh-Puro模型中的体重变化:按组划分的平均体重变化(含标准误差)。
图2:ID8-Luc-MCh-Puro模型中的体重变化:按组划分的平均体重变化(含标准误差)。

图3:原位ID8-luc-mCh-Puro卵巢癌小鼠的生存动力学。

Labcorp performed immune profiling of the ascites from the ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro bearing mice. In Table 1, the immune profiles for total CD45+ leukocytes, CD4+ T cells, CD8+ T cells, Tregs, M-MDSC, G-MDSC, M1 TAM and M2 TAM are shown. While there is considerable heterogeneity in the immune profile between mice, all mice have a robust CD8+ T cell infiltration with favorable CD8+ T cell/Treg ratios. The ID8 ovarian cancer model has been reported to respond to IL-12 immunotherapy which combined with the favorable CD8+ T cell/Treg ratio suggests that the model should support testing of novel immunotherapies.2 Studies to analyze response to immunotherapies as well as standard of care are currently under development.


表1:来自ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro卵巢癌小鼠的小鼠腹水中免疫细胞亚群的流式细胞仪分析

 

表1:来自ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro卵巢癌小鼠的小鼠腹水中免疫细胞亚群的流式细胞仪分析

表1:来自ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro卵巢癌小鼠的小鼠腹水中免疫细胞亚群的流式细胞仪分析

*CD8/Treg比率是根据来自各个CD8和Treg门的绝对计数确定的。
nd = 未决定

参考资料

请注意,所有动物护理和使用均根据动物福利法规在AAALAC认可的研究中心进行,并经过IACUC协议审查和批准。

让我们开始对话

联系我们

Covance Is Now Labcorp Drug Development

We are one global company innovating for millions – together, continuing to bring you more advanced medical breakthroughs.

Learn More

ID8: A syngeneic mouse model for testing ovarian cancer immunotherapies

Author: Dylan Daniel, PhD, Director, Scientific Development
Date: November 2017


ID8-Luc is a novel syngeneic mouse model developed to treat orthotopic ovarian cancer. Ovarian cancer remains a significant unmet medical need with a relative 5-year survival rate of 17% in patients diagnosed with highly advanced stage IV ovarian cancer.

Ovarian cancer is an unmet medical need and particularly lethal because it is often detected only when disease is quite advanced. In 2017, approximately 22,440 women will be diagnosed with ovarian cancer in the United States, and approximately 14,080 deaths will occur. Combination platinum and anti-mitotic taxane based chemotherapy is the standard of care in the U.S., but while these treatment options are often initially efficacious, relapse and progression usually occur. There is a need for novel therapeutic approaches to treat ovarian cancer.

Based on the recent successes of harnessing the immune system to treat other cancers, drug discovery scientists have explored immunotherapy approaches in ovarian cancer. There are currently upwards of 50 clinical trials testing immunotherapy approaches and combinations in ovarian cancer; however, there are a limited number of syngeneic mouse ovarian cancer models available to enable preclinical pharmacology. Labcorp has developed the ID8 syngeneic mouse cell line model for testing standard therapeutics as well as for immuno-oncology applications. ID8 was derived from C57BL/6 mouse ovarian surface epithelial cells that were transformed by serial passage in vitro.1 Luciferase was expressed in the ID8 cells (ID8-Luc-mCherry-Puro) to enable monitoring of orthotopic (intraperitoneal) tumor growth by bioluminescence imaging (BLI).

The mean tumor growth kinetics (Figure 1A) and individual growth kinetics (Figure 1B) of ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro as monitored by BLI are illustrated. The implantation of 1.0×107 cells per mouse yielded more consistent tumor growth than 5.0×106 cells per mouse in C57BL/6 albino mice. As expected, the signal (photons/sec) is higher in the C57BL/6 albino mice (green line, Figure 1B, group 2) than wild type C57BL/6 mice (red line, Figure 1B) due to a lack of melanin pigment in their skin which absorbs light output from the tumor cells. Representative BLI images of ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro orthotopic disease progression are shown in Figure 1C.

Fig. 1A: Intraperitoneal growth of ID8-luc-mCh-puro ovarian cancer monitored by whole body BLI.
Fig. 1A: Intraperitoneal growth of ID8-luc-mCh-puro ovarian cancer monitored by whole body BLI.
Figure 1B – Growth Kinetics of Tumor-ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro

Fig. 1B – Growth Kinetics of Tumor-ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro

Fig. 1C: Representative BLI Images of ID8-luc-mCh-Puro Ovarian Cancer Progression in C57BL/6 Albino Mice (1.0×107 cells/mouse).

Fig. 1C: Representative BLI Images of ID8-luc-mCh-Puro Ovarian Cancer Progression in C57BL/6 Albino Mice (1.0×107 cells/mouse).

Mice implanted with ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro cells gain weight over the duration of the study (Figure 2) with some mice showing weight loss only at end of study. Disease progression, manifesting as abdominal distention due to ascites formation (Figure 3), is linear with survival of 35-40 days in the C57BL/6 albino mice implanted with 1.0×107 cells.

Fig. 2: Body Weight Change in ID8-Luc-MCh-Puro Model: Mean Body Weight Change by Group with Std. Error.
Fig. 2: Body Weight Change in ID8-Luc-MCh-Puro Model: Mean Body Weight Change by Group with Std. Error.
Fig. 2: Body Weight Change in ID8-Luc-MCh-Puro Model: Mean Body Weight Change by Group with Std. Error.

Fig. 3: Survival Kinetics of Mice with Orthotopic ID8-luc-mCh-Puro Ovarian Cancer.

Labcorp performed immune profiling of the ascites from the ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro bearing mice. In Table 1, the immune profiles for total CD45+ leukocytes, CD4+ T cells, CD8+ T cells, Tregs, M-MDSC, G-MDSC, M1 TAM and M2 TAM are shown. While there is considerable heterogeneity in the immune profile between mice, all mice have a robust CD8+ T cell infiltration with favorable CD8+ T cell/Treg ratios. The ID8 ovarian cancer model has been reported to respond to IL-12 immunotherapy which combined with the favorable CD8+ T cell/Treg ratio suggests that the model should support testing of novel immunotherapies.2 Studies to analyze response to immunotherapies as well as standard of care are currently under development.


Table 1: Flow Cytometry Profiling of Immune Cell Subsets in Individual Mouse Ascites from Mice with ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro Ovarian Cancer

 

Table 1: Flow Cytometry Profiling of Immune Cell Subsets in Individual Mouse Ascites from Mice with ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro Ovarian Cancer

Table 1: Flow Cytometry Profiling of Immune Cell Subsets in Individual Mouse Ascites from Mice with ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro Ovarian Cancer

*CD8/Treg ratio determined based on the absolute counts from the individual CD8 and Treg gates.
nd = not determined

References

Note: Please note that all animal care and use was conducted according to animal welfare regulations in an AAALAC-accredited facility with IACUC protocol review and approval.

Let's start a conversation

Contact Us