Covance ist jetzt Labcorp Drug Development

Wir sind ein globales Unternehmen, das für Millionen innovativ ist – gemeinsam, um Ihnen weiterhin fortschrittlichere medizinische Durchbrüche zu ermöglichen.

Mehr erfahren

ID8: Ein syngenes Mausmodell zum Testen von Immuntherapien bei Eierstockkrebs

Autorin: Dylan Daniel, PhD, Direktor, Wissenschaftliche Entwicklung
Date: November 2017


ID8-Luc ist ein neuartiges syngenes Mausmodell, das zur Behandlung von orthotopem Eierstockkrebs entwickelt wurde. Eierstockkrebs ist nach wie vor ein erheblicher medizinischer Bedarf mit einer relativen 5-Jahres-Überlebensrate von 17 % bei Patienten, bei denen Eierstockkrebs im fortgeschrittenen Stadium IV diagnostiziert wurde.

Eierstockkrebs ist ein ungedeckter medizinischer Bedarf und besonders tödlich, da er häufig nur dann erkannt wird, wenn die Krankheit weit fortgeschritten ist. Im Jahr 2017 wird in den USA bei ungefähr 22,44 Frauen Eierstockkrebs diagnostiziert, und es werden ungefähr 14,08 Todesfälle auftreten. Die Kombination einer Chemotherapie auf der Basis von Platin und anti-mitotischem Taxan ist in den USA der Standard der Behandlung. Während diese Behandlungsoptionen häufig anfänglich wirksam sind, treten normalerweise Rückfälle und Progressionen auf. Es besteht Bedarf an neuartigen therapeutischen Ansätzen zur Behandlung von Eierstockkrebs.

Basierend auf den jüngsten Erfolgen bei der Nutzung des Immunsystems zur Behandlung anderer Krebsarten haben Wissenschaftler der Wirkstoffforschung Immuntherapieansätze bei Eierstockkrebs untersucht. Derzeit gibt es mehr als 50 klinische Studien, in denen immuntherapeutische Ansätze und Kombinationen bei Eierstockkrebs getestet werden. Es gibt jedoch eine begrenzte Anzahl von syngenen Maus-Eierstockkrebsmodellen, die eine präklinische Pharmakologie ermöglichen. Labcorp has developed the ID8 syngeneic mouse cell line model for testing standard therapeutics as well as for immuno-oncology applications. ID8 wurde von C57BL /6-Maus-Ovarialoberflächenepithelzellen abgeleitet, die durch serielle Passage in vitro transformiert wurden. 1 Luciferase wurde in den ID8-Zellen (ID8-Luc-mCherry-Puro) exprimiert, um die Überwachung des orthotopen (intraperitonealen) Tumorwachstums durch Biolumineszenz (BLI) zu ermöglichen.

Die mittlere Tumorwachstumskinetik (Fig. 1A) und die individuelle Wachstumskinetik (Fig. 1B) von ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro, wie durch BLI überwacht, sind dargestellt. Die Implantation von 1 × 10 7-Zellen pro Maus ergab ein konsistenteres Tumorwachstum von 5 × 106 Zellen pro Maus in C57 BL/6 Albino-Mäusen. Wie erwartet ist das Signal (Photonen/s) bei den C57BL/6-Albino-Mäusen (grüne Linie, 1B, Gruppe 2) aufgrund eines Mangels an Melaninpigment höher als bei Wildtyp-C57BL/6-Mäusen (rote Linie, 1B) in ihrer Haut, die die Lichtleistung der Tumorzellen absorbiert. Repräsentative BLI-Bilder vom Fortschreiten der ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro-Krankheit sind in Abbildung 1C dargestellt.

Abb. 1A: Intraperitoneales Wachstum von ID8-Luc-mCh-puro-Ovarialkarzinom, überwacht durch Ganzkörper-BLI.
Abb. 1A: Intraperitoneales Wachstum von ID8-Luc-mCh-puro-Ovarialkarzinom, überwacht durch Ganzkörper-BLI.
Abb. 1B – Wachstumskinetik von Tumor-ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro

Fig. 1B – Growth Kinetics of Tumor-ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro

Abb. 1C: Repräsentative BLI-Bilder des Fortschreitens des ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro-Eierstockkrebses in C57BL/6-Albino-Mäusen (1,0 × 107 Zellen/Maus).

Abb. 1C: Repräsentative BLI-Bilder des Fortschreitens des ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro-Eierstockkrebses in C57BL/6-Albino-Mäusen (1,0 × 107 Zellen/Maus).

Mäuse, denen ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro-Zellen implantiert wurden, nehmen über die Dauer der Studie an Gewicht zu (Abb. 2), wobei einige Mäuse erst am Ende der Studie einen Gewichtsverlust zeigten. Das Fortschreiten der Krankheit, das sich als abdominale Ausdehnung aufgrund von Aszitesbildung manifestiert (Abb. 3), ist linear mit dem Überleben von 35–40 Tagen bei den C57BL/6-Albino-Mäusen, denen 1,0 × 107 Zellen implantiert wurden.

Abb. 2: Körpergewichtsänderung im ID8-Luc-MCh-Puro-Modell: Mittlere Körpergewichtsänderung nach Gruppe mit Std. Error.
Abb. 2: Körpergewichtsänderung im ID8-Luc-MCh-Puro-Modell: Mittlere Körpergewichtsänderung nach Gruppe mit Std. Error.
Abb. 2: Körpergewichtsänderung im ID8-Luc-MCh-Puro-Modell: Mittlere Körpergewichtsänderung nach Gruppe mit Std. Error.

Fig. 3: Überlebenskinetik von Mäusen mit orthotopem ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro-Eierstockkrebs.

Labcorp performed immune profiling of the ascites from the ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro bearing mice. In Table 1, the immune profiles for total CD45+ leukocytes, CD4+ T cells, CD8+ T cells, Tregs, M-MDSC, G-MDSC, M1 TAM and M2 TAM are shown. While there is considerable heterogeneity in the immune profile between mice, all mice have a robust CD8+ T cell infiltration with favorable CD8+ T cell/Treg ratios. The ID8 ovarian cancer model has been reported to respond to IL-12 immunotherapy which combined with the favorable CD8+ T cell/Treg ratio suggests that the model should support testing of novel immunotherapies.2 Studies to analyze response to immunotherapies as well as standard of care are currently under development.


Tabelle 1: Flusszytometrie-Profilierung von Immunzell-Untergruppen in einzelnen Maus-Aszites von Mäusen mit ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro-Eierstockkrebs

 

Tabelle 1: Flusszytometrie-Profilierung von Immunzell-Untergruppen in einzelnen Maus-Aszites von Mäusen mit ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro-Eierstockkrebs

Tabelle 1: Flusszytometrie-Profilierung von Immunzell-Untergruppen in einzelnen Maus-Aszites von Mäusen mit ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro-Eierstockkrebs

** CD8/Treg-Verhältnis basierend auf den absoluten Zählwerten der einzelnen CD8- und Treg-Gatter.
nd = nicht bestimmt

Verweise

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die gesamte Tierpflege und -nutzung gemäß den Tierschutzbestimmungen in einer AAALAC-akkreditierten Einrichtung mit Überprüfung und Genehmigung des IACUC-Protokolls durchgeführt wurde.

Unterhalten wir uns

Kontakt

Covance Is Now Labcorp Drug Development

We are one global company innovating for millions – together, continuing to bring you more advanced medical breakthroughs.

Learn More

ID8: A syngeneic mouse model for testing ovarian cancer immunotherapies

Author: Dylan Daniel, PhD, Director, Scientific Development
Date: November 2017


ID8-Luc is a novel syngeneic mouse model developed to treat orthotopic ovarian cancer. Ovarian cancer remains a significant unmet medical need with a relative 5-year survival rate of 17% in patients diagnosed with highly advanced stage IV ovarian cancer.

Ovarian cancer is an unmet medical need and particularly lethal because it is often detected only when disease is quite advanced. In 2017, approximately 22,440 women will be diagnosed with ovarian cancer in the United States, and approximately 14,080 deaths will occur. Combination platinum and anti-mitotic taxane based chemotherapy is the standard of care in the U.S., but while these treatment options are often initially efficacious, relapse and progression usually occur. There is a need for novel therapeutic approaches to treat ovarian cancer.

Based on the recent successes of harnessing the immune system to treat other cancers, drug discovery scientists have explored immunotherapy approaches in ovarian cancer. There are currently upwards of 50 clinical trials testing immunotherapy approaches and combinations in ovarian cancer; however, there are a limited number of syngeneic mouse ovarian cancer models available to enable preclinical pharmacology. Labcorp has developed the ID8 syngeneic mouse cell line model for testing standard therapeutics as well as for immuno-oncology applications. ID8 was derived from C57BL/6 mouse ovarian surface epithelial cells that were transformed by serial passage in vitro.1 Luciferase was expressed in the ID8 cells (ID8-Luc-mCherry-Puro) to enable monitoring of orthotopic (intraperitoneal) tumor growth by bioluminescence imaging (BLI).

The mean tumor growth kinetics (Figure 1A) and individual growth kinetics (Figure 1B) of ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro as monitored by BLI are illustrated. The implantation of 1.0×107 cells per mouse yielded more consistent tumor growth than 5.0×106 cells per mouse in C57BL/6 albino mice. As expected, the signal (photons/sec) is higher in the C57BL/6 albino mice (green line, Figure 1B, group 2) than wild type C57BL/6 mice (red line, Figure 1B) due to a lack of melanin pigment in their skin which absorbs light output from the tumor cells. Representative BLI images of ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro orthotopic disease progression are shown in Figure 1C.

Fig. 1A: Intraperitoneal growth of ID8-luc-mCh-puro ovarian cancer monitored by whole body BLI.
Fig. 1A: Intraperitoneal growth of ID8-luc-mCh-puro ovarian cancer monitored by whole body BLI.
Figure 1B – Growth Kinetics of Tumor-ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro

Fig. 1B – Growth Kinetics of Tumor-ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro

Fig. 1C: Representative BLI Images of ID8-luc-mCh-Puro Ovarian Cancer Progression in C57BL/6 Albino Mice (1.0×107 cells/mouse).

Fig. 1C: Representative BLI Images of ID8-luc-mCh-Puro Ovarian Cancer Progression in C57BL/6 Albino Mice (1.0×107 cells/mouse).

Mice implanted with ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro cells gain weight over the duration of the study (Figure 2) with some mice showing weight loss only at end of study. Disease progression, manifesting as abdominal distention due to ascites formation (Figure 3), is linear with survival of 35-40 days in the C57BL/6 albino mice implanted with 1.0×107 cells.

Fig. 2: Body Weight Change in ID8-Luc-MCh-Puro Model: Mean Body Weight Change by Group with Std. Error.
Fig. 2: Body Weight Change in ID8-Luc-MCh-Puro Model: Mean Body Weight Change by Group with Std. Error.
Fig. 2: Body Weight Change in ID8-Luc-MCh-Puro Model: Mean Body Weight Change by Group with Std. Error.

Fig. 3: Survival Kinetics of Mice with Orthotopic ID8-luc-mCh-Puro Ovarian Cancer.

Labcorp performed immune profiling of the ascites from the ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro bearing mice. In Table 1, the immune profiles for total CD45+ leukocytes, CD4+ T cells, CD8+ T cells, Tregs, M-MDSC, G-MDSC, M1 TAM and M2 TAM are shown. While there is considerable heterogeneity in the immune profile between mice, all mice have a robust CD8+ T cell infiltration with favorable CD8+ T cell/Treg ratios. The ID8 ovarian cancer model has been reported to respond to IL-12 immunotherapy which combined with the favorable CD8+ T cell/Treg ratio suggests that the model should support testing of novel immunotherapies.2 Studies to analyze response to immunotherapies as well as standard of care are currently under development.


Table 1: Flow Cytometry Profiling of Immune Cell Subsets in Individual Mouse Ascites from Mice with ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro Ovarian Cancer

 

Table 1: Flow Cytometry Profiling of Immune Cell Subsets in Individual Mouse Ascites from Mice with ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro Ovarian Cancer

Table 1: Flow Cytometry Profiling of Immune Cell Subsets in Individual Mouse Ascites from Mice with ID8-Luc-mCh-Puro Ovarian Cancer

*CD8/Treg ratio determined based on the absolute counts from the individual CD8 and Treg gates.
nd = not determined

References

Note: Please note that all animal care and use was conducted according to animal welfare regulations in an AAALAC-accredited facility with IACUC protocol review and approval.

Let's start a conversation

Contact Us